Personal

Of Vices And Resolutions

I can’t believe it’s already 2017. I know. 20 days has already passed since the new year kicked in, but I feel like it hasn’t really sunk in yet. At least not to me. When I was a child, the year 2000 was like a myth. I always thought to myself that I’d be 16 by then, and I’d be so much older. Well, it’s been 17 years since the year 2000, and I am obviously way older than how I imagined I would be.

I know people have a tradition of listing down their resolutions for the new year. I’ve never been one of those people. That’s why, while almost everyone is working of minimizing their vices and working on staying healthy, working out more, traveling more, and all other stuff, I’m going to reinforce my vices this year.

Let me tell you why. I don’t really have a vice. Hobbies, well, I have a lot of those. I could read one novel a at night before I sleep. I could color for as many hours as I can. I could do so many other things that I put my mind on. However, this year, I think I am going to stick to a few things.

I will color more. Late 2015, I got into coloring. I’ve always enjoyed it as a kid, but life got in the way, and I didn’t have time for such things anymore. This year, I’ll try to at least finish fifty coloring pages. When I reach that goal, and there’s still a lot of days left, I might revisit that goal and make adjustments.

I will try to work on my current cross stitch pattern. Unlike coloring, I’ve never lost my love for cross stitching. I think I’ll work on making even the least amount of progress this year on the current project I am working on. I’m not in a hurry to finish it, anyway, so a little progress is all I need.

I won’t say I’ll read more, because I already read too much. What I will work on, though, is reading more books with substance. I will never stray from the romance genre. However, I will try to be more picky with my books. I’ve often gambled on new authors or popular authors I’ve never tried just because they get good reviews or are making waves on social media. This year, I won’t be listening to the crowd. I will trust my intuition and read books that my instincts tell me to.

I’ll blog more. I have this blog which is my personal blog. I’ll also be launching my new book blog. However, this time, I won’t just be a book blogger out to pimp and promote books and hoard ARCS and other review copies. Like my reading goals, I will be picky this time. I won’t overwork myself as a book blogger. I will review books that I believe in. I will promote books that I loved. I will support authors because I am a fan.

That’s what I have for the year, so far. 2016 has been a difficult year, not only for me, but for a lot of people. I hope that 2017 will be a huge improvement. I hope your 2017 will be an amazing year, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

